Dayanita Singh – Performance at the 55th Biennale di Venezia 2013

130529_©Thorsten_Arendt

In her performance on May 30, 2013 in front of the French pavilion at the 55th Biennale di Venezia, Dayanita Singh signed and stamped copies of her book File Room (Steidl, 2013). Through this act of personalizing her books, Singh made the gesture of a gift; purchasers of her book not only received an individualized catalogue from the artist but also a bag and a scarf.

See here for pictures of the performance.

panel discussion: And who are you? National representation in art today

A panel discussion held by the German pavilion at the 55th International Art Exhibition—La Biennale di Venezia 2013 in collaboration with the Goethe-Institut and the Institut für Auslandsbeziehungen (ifa).
With Susanne Gaensheimer, Gilles Kepel, Simon Njami, Dayanita Singh, and Mark Terkessidis. Moderation: Koyo Kouoh

Date: Friday, May 31, 4 p.m.

Location: French pavilion, Giardini della Biennale, Venice

The German pavilion at the 55th Biennale di Venezia pursues a transnational approach. Due to the French-German cooperation at this yearʼs Biennale, the contribution curated by Susanne Gaensheimer with works by

Dayanita Singh – the german contribution in the french pavilion Venice 2013

Dayanita Singh, Mona and Myself  and Sea of Files, installation view the German contribution in the French pavilion Venice 2013, courtesy of the artist and Frith Street Gallery, London. © Roman Mensing in cooperation with Thorsten Arendt, artdoc.de

“As a young woman, Dayanita Singh started to portray a famous Indian musician and tabla player as he traveled around the world. He subsequently became her spiritual mentor,

the official catalog of Germany’s pavilion at the Venice Biennale festival of art 2013

DEPA_BOOK_Cover_D_FINAL

 We are pleased to announce the upcoming release of the official publication of the German Pavilion at the Biennale di Venezia 2013!

Edited by curator Susanne Gaensheimer, the 240-page, cloth-bound catalogue will be available as of May 28, 2013 and is published by Gestalten, Berlin.

Eleven international authors—curators, artists, collectors, and critics as well as scholars from the fields of art history, politics, migration research, philosophy, and cultural studies—were invited to take part in this interdisciplinary discussion on cultural and sociopolitical aspects of the German contribution to this year’s Biennale di Venezia.

Aveek Sen: Roots in air – „Edward Said called it Orientalism. Now it is called Context…”

houseoflove©dayanita singh

Photography from House of Love (2010) © Dayanita Singh

Do we need the classifications of national or cultural contexts in order to understand photography, and to what extent are such categorizations of cultural identity relevant in contemporary cosmopolitan society?

Aveek Sen raises these questions in his text Roots in Air and reveals deep-seated western mechanisms of reception and the feedback effect that they meanwhile have on the art of non-western artists. For Dayanita Singh it is essential that her work be read independently of rigid contextualizations or stereotypes, and Sen familiarizes us with the conceptual model of this approach.

Read his text here.

Photography from House of Love (2011) © Dayanita Singh

Photography from House of Love (2011) © Dayanita Singh

Aveek Sen is a writer and an editor for The Telegraph, Calcutta. Roots in Air is one of nine essays by Sen that are included in Singh’s book House of Love. House of Love was published in 2010 by Radius Books co-published with the Peabody Museum Press.

Dayanita Singh: „I don´t think loss has a nationality.“

Singh at home in Delhi, ©Bharat Sikka

Singh at home in Delhi,
©Bharat Sikka

Written by Rachel Spence, the article “Infinite possibilities” on Dayanita Singh appeared in the Financial Times on April 26, 2013. Spence met with Singh in her studio in Delhi and spoke with the artist on politics, love, friendship, and her relationship to photography and books. The article offers an overview of Singh’s artistic work from the past 20 years and outlines Singh’s conceptual approach, which is based on a notion of art that defies categorization and stereotypes.

Read the complete article on FinancialTimes.com

Dayanita Singh, File Room – new release by Steidl

Photography from File Room © Dayanita Singh

 

Dayanita Singh’s new publication File Room was published in March 2013 by Steidl. The book presents black and white photographs from the series by the same name: images of archives and back room offices. Crammed with papers and files, these spaces refer to human systems of conservation and memory.

http://www.steidl.de/flycms/de/Books/0405081144.html

Dayanita Singh – Performance auf der 55. Biennale di Venezia 2013

130529_©Thorsten_Arendt

In ihrer Performance am 30. Mai 2013 vor dem Französischen Pavillon auf der 55. Biennale di Venezia, signierte und stempelte Dayanita Singh ihr neuestes Buch File Room (Steidl, 2013). Mit diesem Akt der Personalisierung der Bücher, vollzog Singh einen Schenkungs-Gestus; die Käufer des Buches erhielten neben dem individualisierten Katalog eine Tasche und einen Schal von der Künstlerin.

Hier zeigen wir Aufnahmen der Performance.

Podiumsdiskussion: And who are you? Nationale Repräsentation in der Kunst heute

Podiumsdiskussion des Deutschen Pavillons auf der 55. Internationalen Kunstausstellung – La Biennale di Venezia 2013 in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Goethe-Institut und dem Institut für Auslandbeziehungen (ifa).
Mit Susanne Gaensheimer, Gilles Kepel, Simon Njami, Dayanita Singh und Mark Terkessidis. Moderation: Koyo Kouoh

Datum: Freitag, 31. Mai, 16 Uhr

Ort: Französischer Pavillon, Giardini della Biennale, Venedig

Der Deutsche Pavillon auf der 55. Biennale in Venedig verfolgt einen transnationalen Ansatz. Aufgrund der Zusammenarbeit mit Frankreich findet der von Susanne Gaensheimer kuratierte Beitrag mit Werken von

Dayanita Singh – der deutsche beitrag im französischen pavillon Venedig 2013

Dayanita Singh, Mona and Myself und Sea of Files, Installationsansicht deutscher Beitrag im französischen Pavillon 2013, courtesy of the artist and Frith Street Gallery, London. Foto: © Roman Mensing in Zusammenarbeit mit Thorsten Arendt, artdoc.de.

“Als junge Frau begann Dayanita Singh einen berühmten indischen Musiker und Tablaspieler auf seinen Reisen um die ganze Welt über Jahre hinweg zu porträtieren. Er entwickelte sich zu einem spirituellen Mentor.

Die offizielle Begleitpulikation zum Beitrag des deutschen Pavillons auf der Biennale di Venezia 2013

DEPA_BOOK_Cover_D_FINAL

Wir freuen uns, die Veröffentlichung der offiziellen Begleitpublikation zum Beitrag des deutschen Pavillons auf der Biennale di Venezia 2013 ankündigen zu dürfen!

Von Kuratorin Susanne Gaensheimer herausgegeben, erscheint der 240 Seiten starke Katalog im Leineneinband am 28. Mai 2013 beim Berliner Gestalten Verlag.

11 internationale Autoren, darunter Kuratoren, Künstler, Sammler und Kritiker, sowie Wissenschaftler aus den Bereichen der Kunstgeschichte, Politik, Migrationsforschung, Philosophie und Kulturwissenschaften wurden eingeladen, kulturelle und sozialpolitische Inhalte des deutschen Beitrags auf der diesjährigen Biennale di Venezia interdisziplinär zu diskutieren.

Aveek Sen: Roots in air – „Edward Said called it Orientalism. Now it is called Context…“

houseoflove©dayanita singh

Photography from House of Love (2010) © Dayanita Singh

Brauchen wir die Einordnung in nationale oder kulturelle Kontexte um Fotografie verstehen zu können, und wie zeitgemäß sind solche Kategorisierungen kultureller Identität in der heutigen kosmopoliten Gesellschaft?

Aveek Sen wirft diese Fragen in seinem Text Roots in Air auf, und entlarvt tief verwurzelte westliche Rezeptionsmechanismen und die Rückkopplungseffekte, die sie bisweilen auf die Kunst nicht-westlicher Künstler haben. Für Dayanita Singh ist der Anspruch, dass ihr Werk abseits von rigiden Kontextualisierungen oder Stereotypen gelesen wird, essentiell. Sen macht mit dem Gedankenmodell dieses Ansatzes vertraut.

Hier können Sie seinen Beitrag lesen.

Photography from House of Love (2011) © Dayanita Singh

Photography from House of Love (2011) © Dayanita Singh

Aveek Sen ist Autor und Redakteur bei The Telegraph, Kalkutta. Roots in Air ist einer von insgesamt neun Texten, mit denen Sen in Dayanita Singhs Buch House of Love vertreten ist. House of Love erschien 2010 bei Radius Books als eine Koproduktion mit der Peabody Museum Press.

Dayanita Singh: „I don´t think loss has a nationality.“

Singh at home in Delhi,©Bharat Sikka

Singh at home in Delhi,
©Bharat Sikka

Der Artikel „Infinite possibilities“ von Rachel Spence über Dayanita Singh erschien am 26. April 2013 in der Financial Times. Spence traf Singh in ihrem Atelier in Delhi und sprach mit der Künstlerin über Politik, Liebe und Freundschaft, sowie über ihr Verhältnis zur Fotografie und zu Büchern. Der Artikel bietet einen Überblick über Singhs künstlerische Arbeiten der letzten 20 Jahre und konturiert Singhs konzeptionelle Herangehensweise, die auf einem Kunstbegriff abseits von Kategorisierungen und Stereotypen basiert.

Lesen Sie den vollständigen Artikel auf FinancialTimes.com

Dayanita Singh, File Room – Neuerscheinung bei Steidl

Photography from File Room © Dayanita Singh

 

Dayanita Singhs Neuveröffentlichung File Room ist im März 2013 bei Steidl erschienen. Das Buch zeigt schwarz-weiß Abbildungen aus der gleichnamigen Serie: Archive und Hinterzimmer von Büroräumen. Vollgestopft mit Papieren und Akten, verweisen diese Räume auf menschliche Erinnerungssysteme.

http://www.steidl.de/flycms/en/Buecher/0822274150.html